Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

MMFF 2012 Winners Revealed
The winners of the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF 2012) were revealed in a star-studded awarding ceremony held at the Meralco Theater in Ortigas on Thursday night, December 27, 2012.

Star Cinema's "One More Try" emerged as the biggest winner in this year's Festival as it bagged the Best Picture award as well the awards for Best Actor (Dingdong Dantes), Best Screenplay (Anna Ramos), Best Editing (Vito Kahili), Best Child Star (Miguel Vergara) and the first-ever FPJ Memorial Award.

The Second Best Picture award went to the Emilio Aguinaldo biopic "El Presidente," which also received a number of awards including Best Supporting Actor (Cesar Montano), Best Float, Youth Choice Award, Best Sound (Michael Idioma), Best Musical Score (Jessie Lazatin), Best Theme Song (Apl.de.ap and Jamir Garcia) and Best Make-up (Warren Munar).

Internationally acclaimed indie film "Thy Womb" also reaped several awards including Best Actress (Nora Aunor), Best Director (Brillante Mendoza), Best Production Design (Mendoza), Best Original Story (Henry Burgos), Best Cinematography (Odyssey Flores), Gender Sensitivity Award, and the Gatpuno Villegas Award.

Below is the list of MMFF 2012 winners:

Mainstream Films Category:
Best Actress: Nora Aunor ("Thy Womb")
Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes ("One More Try")
Best Picture: "One More Try"
***2nd: "El Presidente"
***3rd: "Sisterakas"
Best Director: Brillante Mendoza ("Thy Womb")
Best Screenplay: "One More Try"
Best Original Story: "Thy Womb"
Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt ("Sisterakas")
Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano ("El Presidente")
Best Editing: Vito Kahili ("One More Try")
Best Cinematography: "Thy Womb"
Best Production Design: "Thy Womb"
Best Visual Effects: "Shake, Rattle, and Roll 14: The Invasion"
Best Make-up: "El Presidente" noypistuff
Best Theme Song: Apl De Ap and Jamir Garcia of Slapsh0ck ("El Presidente")
Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten ("El Presidente")
Best Sound Engineer: Albert Idioma ("El Presidente")
Best Child Actor: Miguel Vergara ("One MorE Try")
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: "Thy Womb"
FPJ Memorial Award: "One More Try"
Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: "Thy Womb"
Youth Choice Award: "El Presidente"
Best Float: "El Presidente"

New Wave Films Category:
Best Full-length Feature: "The Grave Bandits"
Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: "In Nomine Matris"
Best Director: Tyrone Ancierto ("The Great Bandits")
Best Actress: Liza Dino ("In Nomine Matris")
Best Actor: Allan Paule ("Gayak")
Special Jury Prize: "Ad Ignorantiam"

Student Short Films Category:
Best Short Film: "Pukpok" (DLSU)
Most Gender Sensitive Film Award: "Manibela" (FEU)
Special Jury Prize: "Tagad" (USC)

Other Awards:
Male Star of the Night: Joseph Estrada
Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor
Five Star Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo
Five Star Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King

The MMFF 2012 Awards Night will be telecast at 9:30 p.m. on December 27 on TV5.


  1. Anak ng tokwang jury yan. Mas maganda pa ang One more try kesa sa internationally acclaimed na Thy Womb? Wala talaga!

  2. Hynku,dpat mas npancin nila acting ni ms.angel locsin.

  3. Nora is nora...bgyan ng chance ang acting skills ng iba.

  4. kawawa ang the strangers and sosy problems... walang awards...

  5. #angellocsin dpat eh..y oh y? Ngkhyaan nlng b kaya c ateguy pinanalo although alam ng lhat n mgaling tlg x?iba prin performance ni angel eh.

  6. curious lang... bakit last minute sinali ang thy womb? sabi sa reports hindi ito nakuha sa screening ng mmff...

  7. wala din enteng kabisote

  8. Hayaan nyo na... Yung maraming awards, wala atang kinikita...

  9. sana binigyan nalang ng chance ang mas batang artista na makatanggap ng award

  10. Congrats to the winners

  11. Kung talo, TALO walang luto.
    Angel SHOULD win!

  12. alam na kung anong edad ng mga jurors... :D

  13. angel locsin sana fof best actress.. palibhasa walang kinita kaya binigay nalang sa walang kwenta pelikula!

  14. ano ba ang THE WOMB saan galing yan bakit may HIMALA?


Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib