Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Jaclyn Jose received the "Best Actress" award at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival for her role in the Filipino film "Ma'Rosa."
Jaclyn Jose as Ma' Rosa (Photo courtesy of Center Stage Productions)
Helmed by prolific Filipino director Brillante Mendoza, "Ma'Rosa" tells the story of a couple who owns a sari-sari store and moonlights as drug dealers in a poor neighborhood in Manila. It is the 4th Cannes entry of Mendoza, who won the award for "Best Director" at the said festival in 2009 for his film "Kinatay." In 2015, Mendoza's movie "Taklub" was given the "Ecumenical Jury-Prize Special Mention" award.

Below is the complete list of winners at this year's Cannes Film Festival:

Palme d’Or - “I, Daniel Blake” (Ken Loach, U.K.)
Grand Prix - “It’s Only the End of the World” (Xavier Dolan, Canada-France)
Best Director (tie) - Olivier Assayas, “Personal Shopper” (France), and Cristian Mungiu, “Graduation” (Romania)
Best Actor - Shahab Hosseini, “The Salesman” (Iran)
Best Actress - Jaclyn Jose, “Ma ‘Rosa” (Philippines)
Jury Prize - Andrea Arnold, “American Honey” (U.K.-U.S.)
Best Screenplay - Asghar Farhadi, “The Salesman” (Iran)
Palme d’Honneur - Jean-Pierre Léaud
Camera d’Or - “Divines” (Houda Benyamina, France-Qatar)
Short Films Palme d’Or - “Timecode” (Juanjo Jimenez, Spain)
Special Mention – Short Films Palme d’Or - “The Girl Who Danced With the Devil” (Joao Paulo Miranda Maria, Brazil)
Ecumenical Jury Prize - “It’s Only the End of the World” (Xavier Dolan, Canada-France)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib